top of page

* Indie * Liefdom: a tale from Perilisc by Jesse Teller


Rating: 3 / 5 stars

I’m not exactly a big fan of fairies, but after reading the sample chapters, I had to keep going. Mandrake is unlike any fairy. He is repulsive to the eye and nose, much larger than those of his kind, and his existence itself is said to bring violence and turmoil. He is rejected and cast out of his royal family and scorned and humiliated by all who lay eyes on him. Yet, when an advancing menace threatens the entire kingdom, he steps up to fight for their survival because he still sees them as his people.

But an underdog Mandrake is not. He was born to be a warrior. What unfolds next is a captivating yet dark (for my tastes) tale of love, forgiveness, and redemption. Once I decided to bear with the depravity, I was able to see the finer aspects of the story. Moments between Mandrake and his love, Stylus Pea, were quite tender. A love story not based on lust is always refreshing.

I did find it a bit odd that this race of fairies, who supposedly radiates beauty and goodness (they paint the wings of butterflies!), can be so cruel. Also, the ease with which Mandrake forgives them and overlooks their cruelty is astonishing and a little convenient. At times, I found sentences to be worded rather awkwardly, e.g. “he outstretched his arms.” More than a few times, the transition between dialogue and the next scene had an abrupt or no transition at all, leaving me to wonder if I had missed something and then rereading it (I did not). Yet another hiccup was missing details of how characters suddenly appeared on the scene. Plus, whatever happened to Vrice (the main villain) at the end? His “fairy” was still alive after all. I can make certain assumptions on my own, but he is too important of a character to leave the reader guessing.

Overall, a captivating story line but the execution could use refinement. I really enjoyed the distinctive character of Mandrake and the tenderness between him and Stylus Pea. If you are a fan of dark fantasy and/or fairies, give Liefdom a try. It may yet surprise you.

Upcoming reviews
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page